Author Topic: Illegally parked cars on private property  (Read 3906 times)

Offline homeowner

• Council Member
Illegally parked cars on private property
« on: August 02, 2010, 09:40:15 PM »
Recently someone has been parking overnight in my shared alley/driveway which is private property - multiple homes.  The car does not have permission from the homeowner whose spot he/she has been using.

Catch-22: The police say they won't come into the alleyway to ticket because it is private property; towing company says they won't tow until the police have ticketed. 

Car owner has been told not to park there and the car has been plastered with warning signs that they are illegally parked to little avail.

Suggestions??

Offline Really4rob

• Mayor
Re: Illegally parked cars on private property
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2010, 09:51:34 PM »
Techincally, if someone is on your property, is that tresspassing?  I am not sure, I am not a lawyer, but it seems to me ... perhaps they can not ticket the parked car, but if a driver is on your property gettng out or in said car ...
Think before you speak.  Speak your mind.  Mind your business.  Business before pleasure.
Any questions?

Offline NYC Peromyscus

• Activist
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2010, 10:06:49 PM »
Car owner has been told not to park there and the car has been plastered with warning signs that they are illegally parked to little avail.

Suggestions??

I can think of lots of creative and not-so-creative ways to get them to stop parking there.  What are they going to do, complain to the police that they parked on someone's private property and their car got messed up?

Offline dssjh

• Mayor
« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2010, 10:47:37 PM »
i have a creative bent, so when my former SO and i had this problem on 75th st (communal driveway), my solution was to cover the windshield in duct tape and add a politely written request for removal. no lasting harm done and message delivered.

Offline Really4rob

• Mayor