Author Topic: Best Supermarket?  (Read 1565 times)

Offline cannedgreats

• Tourist
Best Supermarket?
« on: May 30, 2019, 08:56:22 PM »
I'm new to Jackson Heights and wondering what the preferred supermarkets and/or groceries are and the ones to avoid. I feel like there are so many, and I'm willing to walk for a place with variety and fair prices! Thoughts?

Offline Ms. Jackson

• Activist
  • I am for real
Re: Best Supermarket?
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2019, 06:40:51 AM »
I live in the 70s and stick with Foodtown and Food Dynasty. Neither one are great, but Foodtown is leaps and bounds better than Food Dynasty. Check expiration dates EVERYWHERE. Best produce can be found at the produce stands (Growing Farm, Lemon Farm, Kim's Brother). I usually have to stop at a couple stores to get everything needed on my weekly grocery list.

Offline Shelby2

• Global Moderator
  • Mayor
« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2019, 08:47:07 AM »
Unfortunately I can't really think of a best supermarket in Jackson Heights. None of them are that great. I also like produce shops mentioned above, and I do pick up a few things like bread and eggs at the organic Downtown Natural Market (they have great prices on eggs). I buy yogurt, apples, and turkey at the Farmer's Market on Sunday. Besides that I find myself more and more just picking things up at Traders Joes in Manhattan when I happen to be there. I'm also in Astoria regularly so I pick up seafood, meat and produce at the little shops on 30th Ave.

If you have a car, you can check out the Food Bazaar on Northern Blvd.

Online jh35

• Council Member
« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2019, 09:10:51 AM »
I live in the 70s and stick with Foodtown and Food Dynasty. Neither one are great, but Foodtown is leaps and bounds better than Food Dynasty. Check expiration dates EVERYWHERE. Best produce can be found at the produce stands (Growing Farm, Lemon Farm, Kim's Brother). I usually have to stop at a couple stores to get everything needed on my weekly grocery list.